College of Science and Engineering


10 students receive 2-year science, math scholarships

Friday, December 7, 2012

Ten students were named as the first to receive one of the 30 two-year scholarships from a $600,000 National Science Foundation (NSF) grant earned this summer by St. Cloud State University.

NSF provides the grants to encourage students to work toward science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM, careers. St. Cloud State University Professor Susantha Herath, chair of the information systems department, applied for the NSF grant for 10 years before receiving it.

The students who received scholarships were Terry Pitts, Benjamin Paulson, Angela Katzmarek, Amanda Scotting, Allen Yang, Gregory Roelle, Joel Schwarting, Vien Timmy Nguyen, Anthony Pearson and Matthew Wyman.

The students were honored in ceremonies Wednesday night at Atwood. They will receive two-year stipends of $18,200 through the Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics program.

The scholarships at St. Cloud State are awarded based on academics and need to students in information systems, computer science and computer engineering programs. Preference is given to women, students of color, American Indians, first-generation college students and transfer students from community colleges.

In an interview this summer about the grant, Herath said one reason St. Cloud State earned the grant was its support from Minnesota’s community colleges. The information systems department plans to recruit enough students to generate $3.3 million in tuition revenue during the next four years. The students also are eligible for travel stipends for conferences, field trips and paid summer internships at a national laboratory. Herath’s plan includes faculty and peer mentor assistance.

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

Untitled Document