College of Science and Engineering


St. Cloud State to make air traffic controller training available

Friday, October 3, 2008

WASHINGTON, D.C. – St. Cloud State University is among the eight additional colleges or universities selected by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to participate in the Air Traffic Collegiate Training Initiative (CTI) program.  Approved participants prepare and train students interested in a career as an air traffic controller. 

Professor Steven Anderson, Department of Aviation chair, said application to the CTI program was made in March, and representatives from the FAA visited St. Cloud State in May.

“Our faculty and the fact that we are nationally accredited were large factors in the selection process,” Anderson said.  Aviation’s bachelor of science major is accredited by the Aviation Accreditation Board International.

Anderson said selection to the CTI program means fundamentals of air traffic control will likely become part of the curriculum of Aviation Operations, one of the major's three emphases.  

After the curriculum is in place, graduates of the program are likely to be favored for admission to the FAA’s air traffic controller training program.

The FAA plans to recruit and hire more than 17,000 new air traffic controllers over the next 10 years.  Over the last three years, the agency has hired 5,000 new controllers and plans to hire more than 2,000 in fiscal year 2009.  In the past five years, CTI schools have graduated more than 4,000 students from their aviation programs.  Three thousand of those graduates were hired by the FAA.

 "These schools are an excellent jump start for a job in air traffic control," said Robert A. Sturgell, the FAA's acting administrator.  "These institutions will give thousands of future controllers an inside track on a great career."

The addition of new schools in the program increases the number of CTI schools from 23 to 31.  The schools are accredited and offer a non-engineering aviation degree. 

The most recent schools added to the list include:  Aims Community College (Colorado), Broward Community College (Florida), Eastern New Mexico-Roswell (New Mexico), Embry Riddle-Prescott (Arizona), Jacksonville University (Florida), LeTourneau University (Texas), St. Cloud State University (Minnesota), Tulsa Community College (Oklahoma). 

The other CTI schools are:  Arizona State University, Community College of Baltimore County (Maryland), Florida Community College-Jacksonville, Green River Community College (Washington), Lewis University (Illinois), Kent State University (Ohio), the Metropolitan State College of Denver (Colorado); Middle Georgia College, the University of Oklahoma, Community College of Beaver County (Pennsylvania), Daniel Webster College (New Hampshire), Dowling College (New York), Embry-Riddle-Daytona Beach (Florida), Hampton University (Virginia), Inter-American University of Puerto Rico, Miami Dade County College (Florida), Middle Tennessee State University, Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minnesota), Mount San Antonio (California), Purdue University (Indiana), University of Alaska, University of North Dakota, and Vaughn College of Aeronautics (New York).

<< Previous  |  Archive  |  Next >>

Untitled Document