Denise M. McGuire Student Research Award 2007-2008

Tony Alfano

  • Classification of Protein that Inhibits PGC-1 Protein, Contributing to the Cause of Neurodegenerative Disorders
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Assistant Professor Brian Olson, Biological Sciences  

Erin Bastyr and Andrew Dotseth

  • Water Quality Analysis of Little Birch Lake Tributary and Outlet
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Mitch Benter, Environmental and Technological Studies

Nirjal Bhattarai

  • Inhibition of Amyloid B Peptide Aggregation by Galantamine, Memantine and Tacrine
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Latha Ramakrishnan, Chemistry

Amanda Cole

  • The Effects of Singular and Mixture Exposures of Estrogens on a Model Aquatic Invertebrate Daphnia Magna
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Heiko Schoenfuss, Biological Sciences

Ryan Doheny, Nick Stein, and Eric Voegele

  • Autonomous Meteorological Aircraft
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Mark Petzold, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Michael Eannelli

  • Synthesis and Characterization of Oxovanadium-Flavinoid Complexes and Their Potential Anti-Diabetic Effects
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Professor Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir, Chemistry

Hallie Elich

  • On Group and Ring Homomorphisms
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Professor Danrun Huang, Mathematics

Koshali Fernando

  • Synthesis and Characterization of Vanadium Tryhyudroxyflavone Complexes with Potential Insulin Mimicking Properties
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Professor Mohammad Mahroof-Tahir, Chemistry

Kala Fisher and Michael Hayman

  • Avon Hills Conservation Action Plan
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Mitch Bender, Environment and Technological Studies

Amy Giese

  • Is There a Gold Depost in the Center Valley Area?
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Alfred Pekarek, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Damir Krehic, Motohisa Suzuki, and  Zach Tatge

  • Power Train for an Electric Motorcycle
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Assistant Michael Glazos, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Nicholas Lennemann

  • Identification of a PGC-Destroying Protein for the Treatment of Parkinson’s Disease
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Assistant Professor Brian Olson, Biological Sciences

Dan Nadeau and Joe Stafne

  • Analysis of Nutrient Loading and E. Coli Contamination of Johnson Creek
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Mitch Bender and Associate Professor Charles Rose, Environment and Technological Studies

Deshani Perera

  • Does WHI-P131, an Inhititor of Janus Tyrosine Kinase (JAK) 3, Induce Apoptotic Cell Death in Cultured T-Cells of NOD Mice?
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Marina Cetkovic-Cvlje, Biological Sciences

David Petersen

  • Taratogenic Effects of Ethylene Glycol Ethers on Zenopus Laevis Development and Rolse of Aledhyde Dehydrogenases in Determining Taratogenicity
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Professor Lakshmaiah Sreerama, Chemistry

Aaron Seidel

  • Stimulated Brillouin Scattering Thresholds in Liquid Carbon Disulfide
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Assistant Professor Matt Bigelow, Physics

Binaya Shrestha

  • Spectroscopic Characterization of Aromatic Organic Crystals Tetracene and Rubrene via Time-Resolved Laser Spectroscopy
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Michael Dvorak, Chemistry

Joshua Stepanek

  • Measuring Binding of 4-Nonylphenol to Glass Microspheres as a Possible Mechanism for Increased Toxicity in Diatoms, an Important Component of the Aquatic Primary Production Community
  • Faculty Sponsor(s): Associate Professor Matthew Julius, Biological Sciences
Untitled Document