Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Latha RamakrishnanLatha Ramakrishnan, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry, Chair
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
Specialty: Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Neuroscience
Email: lramakrishnan@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 373
Telephone: (320) 308-3257
Research Interests

Cassidy DobsonCassidy Dobson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
B.A. 2005, Hamline University; Ph.D. 2012, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Specialty: Biochemistry
Email: cmdobson@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 367
Telephone: (320) 308-4531

Michael DvorakMichael A. Dvorak, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.A. 1987, Saint Olaf College; Ph.D. 1992, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Specialty: Analytical chemistry with an emphasis on fluorescence spectroscopy
Email: madvorak@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/madvorak
Office: Wick Science Building 351
Telephone: (320) 308-2015
Research Interests

Thomas G. GardnerThomas G. Gardner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
B.A. 1984, Macalester College; Ph.D. 1989, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Specialty: Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Chemical Synthesis, Coordination Catalysis, Analytical and Forensic Chemistry, Polymer and Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Chemical Education.
Email: tggardner@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 365
Telephone: (320) 308-2054
Research Interests

 

Cliff Grosberg

Adjunct Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
B.S. University of Wisconsin – River Falls; M.S. St. Mary’s University
Specialty: Science Education
Email: lcgrosberg@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 339
Telephone: (320) 308-4161

Mohammad HossainMohammad Hossain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
B.Sc. 1997, M. Sc. 2000, Jahangirnagar University, Bangladesh; Ph.D. 2007, University of Saskatchewan, SK, Canada
Specialty: Organic and Biological Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry: Synthesis and Cytotoxic Evaluation of piperidone based compounds; Design, Synthesis and Bioevaluation of Prodrugs of Novel Cytotoxic Agents; Isolation and characterization of bioactive natural compounds.
Email: mhossain@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 368
Telephone: (320) 308-2081

Michael JeannotMichael A. Jeannot, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1992, University of Saskatchewan; Ph.D. 1997, University of Alberta
Specialty: Analytical chemistry, trace environmental analysis using microextraction techniques
Email: mjeannot@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/majeannot
Office: Wick Science Building 366
Telephone: (320) 308-2046
Research Interests

Rebecca KrystyniakRebecca A. Krystyniak, Ph.D.

Dr. Krystyniak is on leave from Chemistry for 2014-2015. She is serving as the Co-Director of the Teacher Preparation Initiative (TPI).
Professor of Chemistry
B.A. 1996, Carthage College; M.A. 2000, Ph.D. 2001, University of Northern Colorado
Specialty: Chemistry education, inquiry-based learning, the effect of order of content on student understanding, the development and assessment of science process skills, and student understanding of chemistry on the molecular level
Email: rakrystyniak@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Education Building A-232A
Telephone: (320) 308-2024

Tamara LeenayTamara Leenay, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1982, Le Moyne College; Ph.D. 1988, University of Pennsylvania
Specialty: Organic chemistry
Email: tleenay@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 363
Telephone: (320) 308-3948
Research Interests

Mohammad Mahroof-TahirMohammad Mahroof-Tahir, Ph.D.

On leave for 2014-15.
Fulbright Scholar
Professor of Chemistry
M.S. 1979, Quaid-i-Azam University; M.A. 1990, Ph.D. 1992, Johns Hopkins University
Specialty: Bioinorganic chemistry, synthesis and characterization of metal complexes with potential antidiabetic and anticancer properties
Email: mmahroof@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mmahroof
Office: Wick Science Building 373
Telephone: (320) 308-3198
Research Interests

Jack McKennaJack F. McKenna, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1977, Ph.D. 1982, Clemson University
Specialty: Physical chemistry
Email: jfmckenna@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jfmckenna
Office: Wick Science Building 364
Telephone: (320) 308-3032
Research Interests

Mark MechelkeMark Mechelke, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1993, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Ph.D. 1998, University of Iowa
Specialty: Organic chemistry, design and synthesis of novel anticancer drugs
Email: mmechelke@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mmechelke
Office: Wick Science Building 370
Telephone: (320) 308-2030
Research Interests

Donald NeuDonald R. Neu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1989, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Ph.D. 1993, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Specialty: Solid state, quantum dot, materials science, inorganic chemistry and radiochemistry, semiconducting materials, quantum devices, quartz crystal micro-balance sensor devices, and direct nuclear power conversion
Email: drneu@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/drneu
Office: Wick Science Building 369
Telephone: (320) 308-3989
Research Interests

Latha RamakrishnanSarah C. Petitto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1999, Rochester Institute of Technology; Ph.D. 2005, University of Nebraska--Lincoln
Specialty: Physical surface chemistry
Email: scpetitto@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 371
Telephone: (320) 308-5420
Research Interests

 

Jake RaffertyJake Rafferty, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 2004, St. Cloud State University; Ph.D. 2009, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Specialty: Physical chemistry, statistical mechanics, molecular simulation of liquids
Email: jlrafferty@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 372
Telephone: (320) 308-4170

Kannnan SivaprakasamKannan Sivaprakasam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1988, University of Madras; Ph.D. 1998, Indian Institute of Science
Specialty: Polymer/materials science
Email: ksivaprakasam@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 357
Telephone: (320) 308-1692

Lakshmaiah SreeramaLakshmaiah Sreerama, Ph.D.

On leave for 2014-15.
Fulbright Scholar
Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1983, M.S. 1985, Ph.D. 1991, Bangalore University (India)
Specialty: Biochemistry and biochemical pharmacology, anticancer drug resistance mechanisms and biochemical toxicology of environmental chemicals
Email: lsreerama@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/lsreerama
Research Interests

Nathan WinterNathan S. Winter, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
B.A. 1987, Macalester College; Ph.D. 1992, Washington University
Specialty: Biophysical chemistry, protein crystallization and structural studies
Email: nwinter@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 365
Telephone: (320) 308-2052


General Chemistry Lab Coordinator

 

Position currently vacant.

Administrative Reassigned Faculty

Daniel GregoryDaniel D. Gregory, Ph.D.

Dr. Gregory is on leave from Chemistry. He is serving as Dean of the College of Science & Engineering.
Professor of Chemistry
B.S. 1994, Southwest State University; Ph.D. 1998, Iowa State University
Specialty: Physical organic chemistry, photochemistry and computational chemistry of organic compounds
Email: dgregory@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 145
Telephone: (320) 308-5468

Staff

Bernie FrieBernie Frie

Office Manager
Email: bmfrie@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 358
Telephone: (320) 308-3031
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/bmfrie 

Jeff StobbJeff Stobb

College Laboratory Services Specialist
Email: jwstobb@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 313-1
Telephone: (320) 308-1743

Mike MooreMike Moore

College Laboratory Services Specialist
Email: mjmoore@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 313-1
Telephone: (320) 308-2061

Untitled Document