Department of Biology
College of Science and Engineering

Faculty and Staff

Current Faculty and Staff

 

 

Maureen Tubbiola Maureen L. Tubbiola, Ph.D., Chair

Professor of Biology
B.A. 1983, Humboldt State University; M.S. 1989, Ph.D. 1992, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Research Interests : Mammalian reproductive physiology
E-Mail: mltubbiola@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mltubbiola
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 226
Telephone: (320) 308-3035

 

Jorge ArriagadaJorge E. Arriagada, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1979, M.S. 1983, University of Concepcion (Chile); Ph.D. 1993, Ohio State University at Columbus
Research Interests: Plant systematics, Conservation, Ethnobotany, Invasive plant species, Wetland plant communities
E-Mail: jearriagada@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jearriagada
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 219
Telephone: (320) 308-3456 (Off.); 308-3463 (Herbarium)

 
Marina Cetkovic-CvrljeMarina Cetkovic-Cvrlje; M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
M.D., 1986; M.S., 1991; Ph.D. 1997, Medical School, University of Zagreb (Croatia)
Research Interests: Immunology, autoimmunity (experimental type 1 diabetes), transplantation (experimental pancreatic islet transplantation and bone marrow transplantation), Janus tyrosine kinase (JAK3) inhibitors.
E-Mail: mcetkoviccvrlje@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 268
Telephone: (320) 308-3490

 
William Cook

William M. Cook, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2003, University of Kansas
Research Interests: Prairie ecology, habitat fragmentation, interactions between humans and wildlife, patterns of biodiversity, community ecology of insects, plants, mammals, and birds
E-Mail: wmcook@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/wmcook
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 228
Telephone: (320) 308-2019

 
Patricia Ellinger

Patricia Ellinger, MSEd, MLS (ASCP) CM,SBB

Medical Lab Science
Office:
SCSU Wick Science Bldg 162
Phone SCSU
: 320-308-5438
Phone NHCC:
763-424-0971
Cell phone: 612-281-5573
Email:
pjellinger@stcloudstate.edu
Web site:
www.stcloudstate.edu/shh

 

Ryan Fink

Ryan C. Fink, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
Ph.D. 2000, University of Milano, Italy; M.S. 1996 University of Milano, Italy
Research Interests: Molecular food microbiology, host-microbe interactions, salmonella-microbiome interactions
E-Mail: rcfink@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 274
Telephone: (320) 308-3047

 

 

 
Oladele Gazal

Oladele S. Gazal, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1986, Ahmadu Bello University ( Nigeria); M.S. 1991, Ph.D. 1994, Iowa State University of Science and Technology
Research Interests : Mammalian physiology, endocrinology
E-Mail: osgazal@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/osgazal
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 227
Telephone: (320) 308-3045 (Off.); 308-5110 (Lab.)

 
Kristin Gulrud

Kristin Pederson Gulrud, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. 1990, St. Cloud State University; Ph.D. 1996, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Research Interests:  Medical microbiology, bacterial toxins, mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis, public health microbiology
E-Mail:  kpgulrud@stcloudstate.edu
Office:  Wick Science Bldg, 270
Telephone:  (320) 308-3207

 

Tony Her

Tony C. Her, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. Physiology and Pre-med, 2002 University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; M.D. 2006 Spartan University School of Medicine
Research Interests: Infectious diseases and Biology education research
E-Mail: tcher@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 248
Telephone: (320) 308-4825

 

 

 
Patricia Hauslein

Patricia L. Hauslein, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
B.A. 1976, Luther College; M.S. 1979, Iowa State University of Science and Technology; Ph.D. 1989, Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College
Research Interest: Science education
E-Mail: plhauslein@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 267
Telephone: (320) 308-3005

 
Bruce Jacobson

Bruce Jacobson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology, Director for Biobusiness Outreach. B.S. in Chemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Ph.D., in Biochemistry, Rice University, Houston, Texas.

Research Interest : Structural Biology and Structure-based drug design
E-Mail: bljacobson@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Brown Hall 240
Telephone: (320) 308-4211

 
Matthew Julius

Matthew L. Julius, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1993, Butler University; M.S. 1995, Ph.D. 2000, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Research Interests : Ecology and systematics of algae, large lake limnology and paleolimnology
E-Mail: mljulius@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mljulius
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 225
Telephone: (320) 308-6684 (Off.); 308-5688 (Lab.)

 
Beverly Kochmann

Beverly Kochmann, Ed.D.

Professor of Biology
Research Interest: Science education
E-Mail: bjkochmann@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg.  272
Telephone: (320) 308-4729

 
Christopher Kvaal

Christopher A. Kvaal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
B.A. 1989, St. Olaf College; Ph.D. 1999, University of Iowa
Research Interests: Molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics
E-Mail: cakvaal@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/cakvaal
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 230
Telephone: (320) 308-4138 (Off.); 308-2026 (Lab.)

 
Anthony Marcattilio

Anthony J. Marcattilio, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.A. 1973, Butler University; M.S. 1975, Ph.D. 1978, Colorado State University
Research Interest : Animal behavior
E-Mail: ajmarcattilio@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 221
Telephone: (320) 308-1500

 
JoAnn Meerschaert

JoAnn Meerschaert, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1989, Michigan State University; Ph.D. 1994, SUNY-Stony Brook
Research Interests : Immunology, cell biology
E-Mail: jmeerschaert@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 220
Telephone: (320) 308-2288

 
Louise Millis Louise Millis, MS, MLS (ASCP)

Medical Laboratory Science Program Director
Associate Professor Biology
Email: lmillis@stcloudstate.edu
Office: WSB 162
Telephone: 320-308-5438

 

 
Mark Minger

Mark A. Minger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
B.A. 1985, Western Washington University; M.A. 1995, Ph.D. 2000, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Research Interests : Science education, teacher preparation and learning environments
E-Mail: maminger@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/maminger
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 271
Telephone: (320) 308-5507

 
Brian L. Olson

Brian L. Olson, Ph.D

Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. (1996) Gustavus Adolphus College; Ph.D.(2003) University of Minnesota
Research Interest : Molecular Biology
E-Mail: blolson@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 277
Telephone: (320) 308-5774

 
Marco Restani

Marco Restani, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1986, University of Montana-Missoula; M.S. 1989, Montana State University-Bozeman; Ph.D. 1997, Utah State University
Research Interest : Wildlife ecology
E-Mail: mrestani@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 223
Telephone: (320) 308-4975 (Off.); 308-0140 (Lab.)

 
Heiko Schoenfuss

Heiko L. Schoenfuss, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.S. 1991, University of Bayreuth ( Germany); M.S. 1997, Ph.D. 1997, Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College
Research Interests : Vertebrate morphology, effects of endocrine disrupters
E-Mail: hschoenfuss@stcloudstate.edu
Web site: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/hschoenfuss
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 273
Telephone: (320) 308-3130 (Off.); 308-5689 (Lab.)

 
Timothy Schuh

Timothy J. Schuh, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology; Chairperson
B.S. 1984, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point; Ph.D. 1990, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Research Interests: Developmental biology, early development of Xenopus laevis
E-Mail: tjschuh@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 224
Telephone: (320) 308-5433

 
Patricia Simpson

Patricia Simpson, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.A. 1976, Blackburn College; M.S. 1986, Ph.D. 1989, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Research Interests : Science education, teacher preparation
E-Mail: psimpson@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 269
Telephone: (320) 308-3012

 
Neal Voelz

Neal J. Voelz, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
B.A. 1980, Saint Olaf College; M.A. 1983, St. Cloud State University; Ph.D. 1990, Colorado State University
Research Interests : Aquatic ecology, streams, invertebrates
E-Mail: njvoelz@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 222
Telephone: (320) 308-5427

 

Bill Heikkila

William (Bill) Heikkila

Biology Lab Coordinator
B.S. 2011, St. Cloud State University
M.S. 2014, St. Cloud State University
E-Mail: wdheikkila@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 252
Telephone: (320) 308-2983

Barb Kjellberg

Barb Kjellberg

Office Administrative Specialist
E-Mail: bkjellberg@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 262
Telephone: (320) 308-2037

Brian Lorenz

Brian Lorenz

College Laboratory Services Specialist
E-Mail: balorenz@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Bldg. 290
Telephone: (320) 308-4911

Denise Schaefer Denise Schaefer

Office Administrative Specialist
E-mail:
dcschaefer@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Wick Science Building 262
Telephone: (320) 308-2039

Michelle Wagner, Ph.D.

 

Michelle Wagner, Ph.D.

Biology Lab Coordinator
B.S. 1995, Texas Lutheran University
Ph.D. 2001, University of Minnesota
E-mail:  mlwagner@stcloudstate.edu
Office:  Wick Science Bldg. 247
Telephone:  (320) 308-2531

>Past Faculty Members - Gone But Not Forgotten! <

 

Untitled Document